Press Mentions: History of Massachusetts Blog

I discovered that my History of Massachusetts Blog recently received a number of amazing mentions and links from huge publications like the Washington Post, Life Magazine, Time Magazine, Saturday Evening Post, Boston Globe and more.

So I decided to create a roundup of all the notable publications and articles my site has been linked to and/or mentioned in:

Buzzfeed:

11 American Road Trips Everyone Should Go On www.buzzfeed.com/googlemaps/11-american-road-trips-everyone-should-go-on

13 Horrifying Facts About Witches That Are Unfortunately True www.buzzfeed.com/hanifahrahman/horrible-witch-facts

Let’s Debunk Some “Facts”: People Are Sharing The Lies They Were Taught In School, And Some Of These Are Actually Shocking www.buzzfeed.com/consheabrown1/lies-people-were-taught-in-school

17 Debbie Downer Facts To Whip Out At The Next Party You Go To www.buzzfeed.com/alanamohamed/womp-womp

No Women Were Burned At The Salem Witch Trials And I For Suuuuure Thought They Were www.buzzfeed.com/crystalro/i-just-learned-witches-were-never-burned-at-the-salem-witch

13 Haunted Cemeteries That Every Ghost Story Lover Should Visit www.buzzfeed.com/alejandroalba/haunted-cemeteries-that-every-ghost-story-lover-should-vi

Boston.com:

On its 235th anniversary, here are 10 questions to test your official Massachusetts knowledge www.boston.com/community/tell-us/massachusetts-235th-anniversary-statehood-official-quiz/

Donald Trump sent a letter invoking the Salem witch trials. The city’s mayor responded with a history lesson www.boston.com/news/politics/2019/12/18/donald-trump-impeachment-salem-mayor-witch-trials/

Here’s your October day trip guide to spooky Salem www.boston.com/travel/travel/2023/10/03/october-day-trip-guide-salem/

Your perfect fall weekend on the North Shore www.boston.com/travel/new-england-travel/2023/10/20/your-perfect-fall-weekend-on-the-north-shore/

Boston Globe:

50 Years After Massive Blackstone River Cleanup www.bostonglobe.com/2022/06/30/metro/50-years-after-massive-blackstone-river-cleanup-zap-challenges-rhode-islanders-once-more/

The 118th Congress has a speaker (pant, sigh, gasp) www.bostonglobe.com/2023/01/10/opinion/118th-congress-has-speaker-pant-sigh-gasp/

Six places to go off-road bicycling north of Boston www.bostonglobe.com/metro/regionals/north/2013/05/08/easing-joy-off-road-bicycling/4CV0Mv3wdicrnkzsRJv3sO/story.html

In Allston the Transit Lesson We Never Learn www.bostonglobe.com/opinion/2017/12/15/allston-transit-lesson-never-learn/fBARh1DtKFupTcjCd2bMpK/story.html

What Should Be On the Massachusetts State Flag www.bostonglobe.com/2022/10/25/lifestyle/what-should-be-massachusetts-state-flag-readers-weigh/

In ‘John Proctor is the Villain,’ #MeToo registers as ‘us too’ www.bostonglobe.com/2024/02/08/arts/john-proctor-is-villain-high-school-is-metoo-crucible/

Mayflower Compact Turns 400 www.bostonglobe.com/2020/11/26/opinion/mayflower-compact-turns-400/

Boston Magazine:

Fort Independence’s Free Tour Season Has Begun www.bostonmagazine.com/arts-entertainment/2016/06/22/fort-independence-free-tours/

TBT: First Group of Women Arrested for Witchcraft in Salem www.bostonmagazine.com/news/2018/02/22/women-arrested-witchcraft-salem/

Ask the Editor: Which Salem Restaurants Won’t Be Scary around Halloween? www.bostonmagazine.com/restaurants/2018/10/10/ask-the-editor-best-salem-restaurants/

Business Insider:

11 facts you learned about US history that are false www.businessinsider.com/us-history-facts-not-true-2019-4

See if you can guess the original names of these 16 iconic US cities www.businessinsider.com/old-former-names-of-cities-in-america

The true story behind Thanksgiving is a bloody one, and some people say it’s time to cancel the holiday www.businessinsider.com/history-of-thanksgiving-2017-11

Things you may have missed on Netflix’s ‘Chilling Adventures of Sabrina’ www.businessinsider.com/chilling-adventures-of-sabrina-hidden-references-details-in2018-10

16 things you never knew about Halloween, from how it got its name to why we give out candy www.businessinsider.com/unusual-facts-about-halloween-2018-10

The fascinating history behind 11 common superstitions www.businessinsider.com/history-origin-people-superstitions-2018-4

I stayed in a haunted hotel the first time I went on vacation after my divorce www.businessinsider.com/haunted-hotel-stay-after-divorce-2023-5

CBS Boston:

Good Stuff Cheap: A Staycation www.cbsnews.com/boston/news/good-stuff-cheap-a-staycation/

Cosmopolitan:

141 Names Inspired by Witches www.cosmopolitan.com/lifestyle/a32687308/best-witch-names/

Cracked:

6 Everyday Places That Hide Dark Historical Secrets www.cracked.com/article_24948_6-normal-places-youd-have-no-clue-hosted-historys-horrors.html

9 Famous Thinkers Who Were Total Hypocrites www.cracked.com/article_20933_9-famous-thinkers-who-were-total-hypocrites.html

Deseret News:

Which witch is which? A history of Salem witchcraft trials www.deseret.com/u-s-world/2022/10/24/23416979/salem-witch-trials-history/

Forbes:

Tax Return 2.0: How Blockchain Technology Can Bring America’s Budget Into The Future www.forbes.com/sites/forbestechcouncil/2018/01/22/tax-return-2-0-how-blockchain-technology-can-bring-americas-budget-into-the-future/?sh=2211b1377b41

Zero100 Supply Chain Predictions For 2023 www.forbes.com/sites/kevinomarah/2022/12/29/zero100-supply-chain-predictions-for-2023/?sh=77d0c1917152

Autonomous Technology Requires Caution — And A Leap Of Faith www.forbes.com/sites/forbestechcouncil/2019/08/20/autonomous-technology-requires-caution-and-a-leap-of-faith/?sh=c0f8e69419e2

The Guardian:

Pilgrim fathers: harsh truths amid the Mayflower myths of nationhood www.theguardian.com/world/2020/sep/20/pilgrim-fathers-harsh-truths-amid-the-mayflower-myths-of-nationhood

Trump accuses Democrats of ‘open war on American democracy’ in stinging impeachment letter – as it happened www.theguardian.com/us-news/live/2019/dec/17/trump-news-today-live-impeachment-democrats-republicans

‘Witches are icons’: Americans embrace their family ties to Salem trial victims www.theguardian.com/us-news/2021/oct/29/salem-witch-trials-americans-embrace-family-ties

History.com:

How 22-Year-Old George Washington Inadvertently Sparked a World War www.history.com/news/george-washington-french-indian-war-jumonville

Salem Witch Trials: Who Were the Main Accusers? www.history.com/news/salem-witch-trials-accusers

5 Notable Women Hanged in the Salem Witch Trials www.history.com/news/notable-women-executed-salem-witch-trials

American-Indian Wars qa.history.com/topics/native-american-history/american-indian-wars

How the Salem Witch Trials Influenced the American Legal System www.history.com/news/salem-witch-trials-justice-legal-legacy

King Philip’s War www.history.com/topics/native-american-history/king-philips-war

Anne Hutchinson www.history.com/topics/colonial-america/anne-hutchinson

Boston: A City Steeped in U.S. History qa.history.com/topics/us-states/boston-massachusetts

Mayflower Compact qa.history.com/topics/colonial-america/mayflower-compact

Glorious Revolution qa.history.com/topics/european-history/glorious-revolution

Women Weren’t the Only Victims of the Salem Witch Trials qa.history.com/news/women-werent-only-victims-of-salem-witch-trials

Huffington Post:

7 Ridiculous Things Americans Panic About www.huffpost.com/entry/post_b_5235360

Salem Mayor Schools Trump On Witch Trials: ‘Learn Some History’ www.huffpost.com/entry/salem-mayor-trump-witch-trial_n_5dfa9aa9e4b006dceaa7e56d

How Thanksgiving tells a story of America’s pluralism www.huffpost.com/entry/how-thanksgiving-tells-a_b_13155782

Boston Must Mull Renaming Iconic Building to Give Civic Dignity To Blacks www.huffpost.com/entry/boston-must-mull-renaming-iconic-building-to-give-civic_b_59a74a68e4b02498834a8e95

Defending Our Shores www.huffpost.com/entry/defending-our-shores_b_5390333

8 Things You Didn’t Know About Deborah Samson: The Woman Who Disguised Herself as a Man to Fight in the American Revolution www.huffpost.com/entry/8-things-you-didnt-know-about-deborah-samson-the_b_57a3ddaee4b0c94bd3c90d9a

Library of Congress Blog:

The Crushing Death of Giles Corey of Salem, 1692 blogs.loc.gov/law/2020/10/the-crushing-death-of-giles-corey-of-salem-1692/

Life Magazine:

Revisiting the Sites of the Salem Witch Trials www.life.com/history/when-life-revisited-the-sites-of-the-salem-witch-trials/

Mental Floss:

11 Facts About the Salem Witch Trials www.mentalfloss.com/article/647176/salem-witch-trials-facts

10 Ways to Identify a Witch www.mentalfloss.com/article/24090/10-ways-identify-witch

Tituba, the Early American Witch www.mentalfloss.com/article/12870/tituba-early-american-witch

New England Historical Society:

The Legend of Faneuil Hall’s Golden Grasshopper Weathervane newenglandhistoricalsociety.com/legend-faneuil-hall-golden-grasshopper-weathervane/

When the British Bombarded Falmouth newenglandhistoricalsociety.com/when-british-bombarded-falmouth/

A Sad Condition: Wilmot Redd and the Salem Witch Trials newenglandhistoricalsociety.com/sad-condition-wilmot-redd-salem-witch-trials/

Pop Sugar:

10 Fascinating Facts About the Salem Witch House in Massachusetts www.popsugar.co.uk/home/facts-about-salem-witch-house-47752287

Reader’s Digest:

10 Things to Stop Believing About the Salem Witch Trials www.rd.com/list/salem-witch-trials/

How Every State Got Its Nickname www.rd.com/list/how-every-state-got-its-nickname/

When Is Thanksgiving 2024, and Why Do We Celebrate It? www.rd.com/article/when-is-thanksgiving/

The Real Story and History of Thanksgiving www.rd.com/article/history-of-thanksgiving/

Salem.org:

History www.salem.org/salem-history/

Salem Public Library:

Old Town Hall salempl.org/wiki/index.php?title=Old_Town_Hall

Pioneer Village salempl.org/wiki/index.php?title=Pioneer_Village

Salem News:

Benton: Bonfanti focuses on Proctor Farm www.salemnews.com/opinion/columns/benton-bonfanti-focuses-on-proctor-farm/article_dd45756d-bddb-5831-8049-9976d3e4ddef.html?fbclid=IwAR2qLImHcIivpepdqWMY8uKbkmp8Q6pf-jp65m6qX5OrZ4ORUZ2HoS5z98I

Salon:

Season of the witch: How the word, and the concept, made a big 2018 comeback www.salon.com/2018/05/29/season-of-the-witch-how-the-word-and-the-concept-made-a-big-2018-comeback/

Saturday Evening Post:

Considering History: The Contradictions Behind America’s Oldest July Fourth Celebration www.saturdayeveningpost.com/2022/07/considering-history-the-contradictions-behind-americas-oldest-july-fourth-celebration/

Considering History: Everything Rick Santorum Got Wrong about American History and Identity www.saturdayeveningpost.com/2021/04/considering-history-everything-rick-santorum-got-wrong-about-american-history-and-identity/

Considering History: Tisquantum and the First Thanksgiving www.saturdayeveningpost.com/2018/11/considering-history-tisquantum-and-the-first-thanksgiving/

Slate:

Slavery Myths Debunked slate.com/news-and-politics/2015/09/slavery-myths-seven-lies-half-truths-and-irrelevancies-people-trot-out-about-slavery-debunked.html

How New England Blamed “Witches” for Its Growing Pains slate.com/news-and-politics/2022/10/malcolm-gaskill-ruin-of-all-witches-hugh-parsons-review.html

Smithsonian Magazine:

Who Were the Real Pirates of the Caribbean? www.smithsonianmag.com/history/who-were-the-real-pirates-of-the-caribbean-180984343/

Diary Sheds Light on Deborah Sampson, Who Fought in the Revolutionary War www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/diary-sheds-light-deborah-sampson-who-fought-revolutionary-war-180972547/

Found in a Candy Tin: One of the First Coins Struck in Colonial North America www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/early-colonial-boston-coin-sells-for-350000-180979137/

Reckoning With—and Reclaiming—the Salem Witch Trials www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/the-salem-witch-trials-history-art-colonial-witchcraft-180978940/

This Eighth-Grade Class Wants to Clear the Name of an Accused Salem ‘Witch’ www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/woman-convicted-witchcraft-salem-might-be-pardoned-328-years-later-180978487/

Scotland Issues Formal Apology to Thousands Accused of Witchcraft www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/scotland-issues-formal-apology-to-thousands-accused-of-witchcraft-180979869/

A Brief History of the Salem Witch Trials www.smithsonianmag.com/history/a-brief-history-of-the-salem-witch-trials-175162489/

Snopes:

Were Accused Witches Burned at the Stake During Salem Witch Trials? www.snopes.com/fact-check/burned-stake-salem-witch-trials/

Time Magazine:

4 Things You Didn’t Know About Thanksgiving time.com/4571371/thanksgiving-facts/?fbclid=IwAR31rqS_D2P1etEJpDFz0iLKfjOtnjjZk1MuTwLK0b-qwqTy7q5Fp8NsTc0

Tufts University:

Third Most sites.tufts.edu/fletcheradmissions/2017/04/third-most/

USA Today:

Here’s the secret to getting the best AncestryDNA test results reviewed usatoday.com/home-outdoors/features/how-to-make-a-family-tree-in-ancestry

University of Chicago Library:

Salem Witch Trials Legal Resources www.lib.uchicago.edu/collex/exhibits/salem-witch-trials-legal-resources/related-resources/

Washington Post:

What the Salem witches can teach us about how we treat women today www.washingtonpost.com/news/made-by-history/wp/2018/06/10/what-the-salem-witches-can-teach-us-about-how-we-treat-women-today/

After Uvalde I Pray with the Grieving and for Bold Action on Guns www.washingtonpost.com/opinions/2022/05/26/uvalde-mass-shooting-prayers-and-gun-control/

A test in Virginia of the right to remain silent www.washingtonpost.com/opinions/2022/06/10/test-virginia-right-remain-silent/

Leave a Comment